Human-Centered Design Thinking

Service Design · User Experience · Design Research


Hello! My name is Nicole and I’ve been working with Human-Centered Design Thinking in UX and Service Design projects for over 20 years. My current focus is on Training, Coaching/Mentoring and Consulting, but I’m also available as a freelance Service and UX Designer and/or Researcher for short-term assignments.

 

UX & Service Design Coaching

service design thinking coaching

Do you need help with your first Service Design or User Experience (UX) project? Don’t know where to start? Which methods are appropriate? How much time to allow for different activities? How to conduct user research?

I’m happy to support you as a UX and Service Design coach and mentor. I’d love to share what I’ve learned in 20 years of working with users in design projects and help you create more human-friendly products and services. Since 2006 I have been conducting workshops, trainings and training-coaching-combos on UX und Service Design topics for teams, since 2021 I’ve been increasingly focusing on 1:1-Mentoring.
Just send me a message to set up a short online meeting, if you’d like to learn more!

#uxdesign #servicedesign #training #coaching #mentoring #consulting

 

UX & Service Design Freelance

If your team needs temporary help with UX or Service Design, I’m available to join forces as a freelancer. We can combine this with a training-on-the-job for employees who would like to build up competencies in Service Design, Research and UX.

I can support you in the following areas:
Design Research, UX Research
Ideation, Design, Prototyping
User Testing, UX Reviews

View case study: UX & Service Design in Healthcare

#uxdesigner #servicedesigner #freelance

Design Research, UX Research

user research in service design

UX Research helps you to understand the needs of your customers. Through observations, interviews and co-creation it is possible to identify opportunities for service innovation and customer experience improvement.

Typical methods and tools: contextual interview, design ethnography, diary study, field observation, co-creation, service safari, analysis of quantitative user data, personas (user profiles), customer journey map, experience map, opportunity map, priority list

Ideation, Design, Prototyping

service design storyboard customer journey

Visualizations and prototypes are crucial for thinking and designing services and interfaces from the user’s point of view.

Typical methods and tools: ideation with creativity techniques, concept development, visualization and specification (idea sketch, customer journey map, service blueprint, user story map, wireframe), interface / service / experience prototyping (paper prototype, digital prototype)

User Testing, UX Reviews

service prototype test

Various methods allow to evaluate prototypes and existing products/services regarding their usefulness, usability and attractiveness. In this way, opportunities for customer experience improvement can be quickly identified.

Typical methods and tools: user test, thinking aloud protocol, rapid prototyping, expert review, heuristic evaluation, cognitive walkthrough, service safari, card sorting, desirability toolkit, A/B testing, usability benchmark (success measurement), etc. 


 

nicole neuberger, service designer and trainer

About me

For the last 2o years I have been helping organizations adopt human-centered design thinking and doing. In my experience two aspects are particularly crucial for being able to create customer-centered, innovative services and obtaining a high customer satisfaction:
1) Relevant, customer-centered service innovations are always grounded in a close observation of human behaviour and a clear understanding of real user needs.
2) The successful implementation of good ideas largely depends on organizational conditions, like the way people collaborate, organizational values, internal reward systems, and more.

As a psychologist, designer and trainer, I bring along a well mixed toolkit that will help us create a tailored strategy and flexible method kit for you and your organization.

If you’d like to learn more about my background, feel free to connect on LinkedIn

References
My clients, employers and course/coaching participants come from diverse industries and include, for example, Sony, Venere.com/Expedia, Deutsche Bahn, UN World Food Programme, Daimler, Vodafone, Deutsche Telekom, Whirlpool, Weleda, Swarovski, Red Bull, M.A.N., Swiss Post, Generali, Zurich Insurance Group, E.ON, City of Hamburg, Renault, Deloitte, Porsche, Volkswagen, Frauenhofer Institute, Seven One Media, etc.
Projects range from digital to physical services, most of them having mixed touchpoints.


 

Contact

I look forward to your message!
My working languages are German, English, Italian and Spanish.

Nicole Neuberger
Vienna & Bogotá
available for remote work (short-term or part-time)
nicole@grounded.co.at

linkedin xing twitter

Questions?

Human-Centered Design Thinking

Service Design · User Experience · Design Research


Hallo! Ich bin Nicole und arbeite seit über 20 Jahren mit Human-Centered Design Thinking in UX & Service Design-Projekten. Mein Fokus liegt derzeit auf Training, Coaching/Mentoring und Beratung, jedoch stehe ich auch gerne kurzfristig als freie Mitarbeiterin in den Bereichen Service und UX Research und Design zur Verfügung.

UX & Service Design Coaching

ux and service design coaching

Brauchen Sie Unterstützung bei Ihrem ersten Projekt im Bereich Service Design oder User Experience? Wo anfangen? Welche Methoden sind geeignet? Wie viel Zeit ist nötig? Wie bezieht man Nutzer in die Gestaltung ein?

Gerne stehe ich Ihnen mit 20 Jahren Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit Nutzern in Designprojekten als UX und Service Design Coach und Mentor zur Seite und helfe Ihnen, kundenfreundliche Produkte und Services zu schaffen. Seit 2006 führe ich Workshops, Trainings und Training-Coaching-Kombinationen zu UX und Service Design-Themen für Teams und Gruppen durch, seit 2021 konzentriere ich mich vermehrt auf das 1:1-Mentoring.

Falls Sie gerne mehr erfahren möchten,senden Sie mir einfach eine Nachricht, um ein kurzes Online-Meeting zum Kennenlernen zu vereinbaren!

#uxdesign #servicedesign #training #coaching #mentoring #beratung

 

UX & Service Design Freelance

Falls Ihr Team temporäre Hilfe bei Service und UX Design braucht, stehe ich gerne als freie Mitarbeiterin zur Verfügung. Auf Wunsch können wir dies mit einem Training-On-The-Job für Mitarbeiter kombinieren, die Kompetenzen in den Bereichen UX und Service Design erwerben möchten.

Ich kann Sie in folgenden Bereichen unterstützen:
Design Research, UX Research
Ideenfindung, Konzeption, Prototyping
User Tests, UX Reviews

Fallbeispiel: UX & Service Design im Gesundheitswesen

#uxdesigner #servicedesigner #freelance #freiemitarbeit

Design Research, UX Research

user research in service design

UX/User Research (Nutzerforschung) hilft Ihnen, die Bedürfnisse Ihrer Kunden besser zu verstehen. Durch Beobachtungen, Interviews und Kreativmethoden kommen Möglichkeiten zur Serviceinnovation und zur Verbesserung des Kundenerlebnisses (Customer Experience) zutage.

Typische Methoden und Tools: Tiefeninterviews, Tagebuchstudien, Beobachtungen, Service-Safaris, Analyse quantitativer Nutzerdaten, Personas (Nutzerprofile), Customer Journey Maps, Experience Maps, Potentialmatrix, Handlungsprioritäten

Ideenfindung, Konzeption, Prototyping

service design storyboard customer journey

Visualisierungen und Prototypen sind fundamental, um Services und Interfaces aus Kundensicht zu denken und zu gestalten.

Typische Methoden und Tools: Brainstorming mit Kreativitätstechniken, Visualisierungen und Spezifikationen (Skizzen, Wireframes, Customer Journey Maps, Service-Blueprints, Storyboards), Prototypen (Papier-Prototypen, digitale Prototypen etc.)

User Tests, UX Reviews

service prototyp test

Verschiedene Methoden helfen, Prototypen und existierende Produkte/Services in Bezug auf Nutzen, Usability und Attraktivität zu evaluieren. Dadurch können rasch Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung des Kundenerlebnisses identifiziert werden.

Typische Methoden und Tools: User Tests, Experten-UX-Review, Heuristische Usability-Evaluation, Desktop Walkthroughs, Service Safaris, Card-Sorting, Benchmark-Tests, Desirability Toolkit, A/B-Tests, Usability-Benchmark zur Erfolgsmessung etc. 


 

nicole neuberger service designerin und trainerin

Über Mich

In den letzten 20 Jahre habe ich immer wieder Organisationen beim Übergang zu einer stärker kundenorientierten Denk- und Arbeitsweise unterstützt. Meiner Erfahrung nach sind zwei Aspekte besonders wichtig, um kundenorientierte, innovative Services schaffen zu können und eine hohe Kundenzufriedenheit zu erreichen:
1.) Relevante, kundenorientierte Service-Innovationen haben ihre Grundlage immer in der aufmerksamen Beobachtung menschlichen Verhaltens und in einem klaren Verständnis für reale Kundenbedürfnisse.
2.) Die erfolgreiche Umsetzung guter Ideen hängt stark von den Gegebenheiten in einer Organisation ab, von der Art der Zusammenarbeit, von den Werten, von internen Belohnungssystemen, usw.

Als Diplom-Psychologin, Designerin und Trainerin bringe ich einen gut durchmischten Werkzeugkasten mit, um gemeinsam mit Ihnen eine maßgeschneiderte Strategie und ein flexibles Methoden-Kit für Sie und Ihre Organisation zu erarbeiten.

Wenn Sie mehr über meinen Hintergrund und Werdegang erfahren möchten, vernetzen Sie sich einfach auf LinkedIn mit mir.

Referenzen
Meine Kunden, Arbeitgeber und Seminar-/Coaching-Teilnehmer stammen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. Dazu zählen, zum Beispiel, Sony, Venere.com/Expedia, Deutsche Bahn, UN World Food Programme, Daimler, Vodafone, Deutsche Telekom, Whirlpool, Weleda, Swarovski, Red Bull, M.A.N., Die Schweizerische Post, Generali, Zurich Versicherung, E.ON, Stadt Hamburg, Renault, Deloitte, Porsche, Volkswagen, Frauenhofer-Institut, Seven One Media etc.
Projekte reichen von digitalen bis zu physischen Services, wobei Mischformen häufig sind.


 

Kontakt

Ich freue mich auf Ihre Nachricht!
Meine Arbeitssprachen sind Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch und Spanisch.

Nicole Neuberger
Wien & Bogotá
Verfügbar für Distanzprojekte/Remote Work (derzeit in Teilzeit; Vollzeit nur bei kurzer Einsatzdauer)
nicole@grounded.co.at

linkedin xing twitter